The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is the international not-for-profit, research and development centre within the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Adelaide, South Australia.

The Institute collaborates internationally with over 70 entities across the world. The Institute and its collaborating entities promote and support the synthesis, transfer and utilization of evidence through identifying feasible, appropriate, meaningful and effective healthcare practices to assist in the improvement of healthcare outcomes globally.

  • Translational Science
  • Synthesis Science
  • Implementation Science
  • Software for health professionals
  • Promoting evidence-based practice

We provide you with the best available evidence to inform your clinical decision-making at the point of care.

Prof Alan Pearson

Our Name

Joanna Briggs was the first matron of Royal Adelaide Hospital. As the Institute is located at the hospital and had an original focus on nursing, it seemed fitting and appropriate to name it after an individual who had been involved in the hospital.

Our Logo

The JBI logo is a pebble dropping into water. It is a metaphor for the process of knowledge sharing and practice change and how a single act or piece of information can be a powerful catalyst for continuous change.


To celebrate the 10 year anniversary of the Institute a book was published which overviews the establishment of the Joanna Briggs Institute and its rapid development as an international leader in the promotion and facilitation of evidence-based health care. Jordan, Z., Donnelly, P and Pittman, E (2006) A short history of a big idea: The Joanna Briggs Institute 1996 - 2006, Ausmed Publications, Melbourne, Australia Available from Ausmed

  JBI Implementation Strategy



Meet Our Team

Dr Zoe Jordan
Associate Professor, Head of Insitute/Executive Director

Adriana Turner
Administrative Officer, Collaboration Support

Bianca Pilla
Communications Officer, Collaboration Support

Charmaine Galagala
Finance Officer

Martin Williams
Graphic Designer

Mai Vu
Administration Officer

Dr Zach Munn

Gilli Atkinson
Solutions Architect

Carl McGee
ICT Officer

Dr Cindy Stern
Senior Research Fellow
BHSc (Hons) PhD

Jasmine Wan
Training and events coordinator

Tim Price
Instructional Designer

Judy Palmer
Administration Officer

Dr Edoardo Aromataris
Associate Professor, Director
BSc (Hons) PhD

Dr Karolina Lisy
Research Fellow
BSc(Hons) PhD

Dr Micah Peters
Research Fellow

Mr Vincent Chu
Research Assistant

Siang Tay
Editorial and Publications Officer

Pam Fletcher
Administration Officer

Sarah Silver
Administration Officer

Dr Craig Lockwood
Associate Professor, Director
RN BN GDipClinNrs MNSc PhD

Alexa McArthur
Senior Research Fellow

Dr Catalin Tufanaru
Research Fellow

Sandeep Moola
Research Fellow
BDS MHSM(Hons) MPhil

Dr Yifan Xue
Research Fellow

Dr Sarahlouise White
Research Fellow
BSc(Hons) MClinSci PhD

Dr Matthew Stephenson
Research Fellow
BSc(Hons) PhD

Dr Kylie Porritt
Research Fellow

Dr Jared Campbell
Research Fellow
BHSc(Hons) PhD

Dr David Tivey
Research Fellow
BSc(Hons) PhD

Dr Kandiah (Sivam) Umapathysivam
Research Fellow
BSc Bsc(Hons) MSc GradDipBus PhD

Glenys Lillywhite

Alex Mignone
Higher Degrees Admin Assistant
BSocSc DipLaw

Dr Judith Streak (nee Gomersall)
Research Fellow
BA(Hons) MCom PhD

Pam Fletcher
Administration Officer